RSS

Damn you, Cartoon Network!

23 Feb

Remember when Cartoon Network actually had good shows? Yeah me neither (just kidding). I lived for those toons, four year old me stayed up till midnight to catch that show about these cats (I have no idea what it’s called).

You know, I was going to insert a carefully draw picture of me lazing on the sofa, but since I’m typing this on my iPad, I can’t :/

So I’ve come up with a list of my favorite Cartoon Network shows…

Tom and Jerry
I remember when CN had those days where they just showed one show the whole day. I’d be moody the whole goddamn day if a stupid show was aired, but if Tom and Jerry was on… I even asked my mother to bring me a bucket and a sponge to wash my hands when I needed to. I would not leave the tv. It’s my fave cartoon.

20120222-180939.jpg
When I was 9 or 10 my cousin downloaded ALL the episodes, and we watched them on the computer for hours at a time. Good times.

Courage the Cowardly Dog
A few days back, I watched an episode of Courage online, and while the show was funny, it didn’t scare me as much. I then proceeded to look at clips of Courage on YouTube, and one scene really chilled me to the bone. It creeped me out, it gave me a feeling of nostalgia/terror. It was the part of the episode King Ramses’ Curse, where this creepy guy says ‘Return the slab or suffer my curse’ in a voice you could only describe as drunken. For a while I couldn’t figure out why the hell I was so chilled of that particular scene, with a guy that looked like he was wearing a yellow scarf and anorexic. Well, the reason is: I would hide under the table I was so scared of that slab curse when I was little. I had a MASSIVE imagination (I still do, just ask my best friend, who’s still confused as to whether I have a twin sister or not), and I really thought King Ramses’ curse would devour me if I didn’t return his slab. Of course, there was no slab I could return, so I had to live in fear till I aged a little and understood that it was just a cartoon.

20120223-174134.jpg
You know how people sometimes have childish fears? Like clowns or dolls? That’s because that thing traumatised them as children, and that fear has stuck.

The Powerpuff Girls
There was not an episode of this that I watched without debating what Powerpuff girl I’d want to be. Most of the time it was the one with the orange hair (Blossom). The blonde one (Bubbles) was too babyish and girly, and the black haired one (Buttercup) was too manly and her voice was scarily gravely.

20120223-175007.jpg
I always found the villains MAJOR scary, and I can admit that I had more than a few nightmares.

Dexter’s Laboratory
Am I the only one who likes Dee Dee? I loved the way she crept up upon Dexter. I hated the episodes with the weird black haired kid (the enemy). Recently 4chan ruined the wonder of Dexter for me by saying the lab was all in his imagination, and his family just played along. Ya know, that’s no problem. It’s just my complete childhood chan ruined for me. :/

20120223-175520.jpg

Worthy Mentions
Top Cat(so that’s what it’s called!) – yup, I would stay up to watch this show. I just loved cats! I still do, and am a proud owner of a slightly overweight, large fluff ball.
Johnny Bravo – also ruined by 4chan. They said it was a little boy who wanted to be older, so he would pretend he was a grown up. It would also explain why he was always near his mother and why he had a little girl as a friend. Also why all the ladies wouldn’t go near him.
Cow and Chicken
I am Weasel
^ I just liked watching these for the way they were drawn/made.
Sheep in the Big City – OMG I just remembered this show! With the grandma who hated the sheep! Ahhh memories!
Ed, Edd and Eddy – I always thought the one with the black hat was a girl. And would LONG to see it being taken off. I was so overjoyed when it got stuck in a lamp or something and it was revealed the character was bald.
Codename: Kids Next Door I started watching this later, as it only came out in 2002, but it was interesting.
Garfield – I watched this on Boomerang, the channel that airs old shows from the CN. I watched EVERY episode, and loved it.
The show about Tweety, I forgot what it was called.
Well, that’s my list. What makes everything so awesome is that I didn’t know English back when Cartoon Network had good shows. I lived in Bulgaria back then, when I was little. What’s weird is I understood everything. EVERYTHING.
—-
In other news guys, I wrote a book. It’s not that long at all, and is probably 70 published pages. 38 pages in Word. Buuuuut I’m planning on selling it soon sooo…just thought I’d let you know *bad poker face*.

I also downloaded a rage comics app. I spend most of my nights reading comics off that and laughing my face off like some crazy drunken idiot.

Again, sorry that I don’t post regularly at all. I do try and post. I was supposed to post this post a week ago, but something stupid came up and I had to go do that. But I will post, it’s just that my life is so goddamn busy. I plan on telling you all about that in another post, when I’m feeling especially chick flicky.

So bye for now, and I’m gonna go and read my rage comics.

20120223-181955.jpg

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Daily Life, Everything

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Damn you, Cartoon Network!

  1. eva626

    February 24, 2012 at 2:20 am

    this brings back so many memories!

     
  2. timbox129

    February 25, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    La Scarlet Cat,

    As for one of the shows that you’re talking about, Dexter’s Laboratory, it is my all time favorite TV show, while James Cameron’s 3D Science Fiction/Fantasy epic AVATAR is my all time favorite movie. And of course, Dee Dee’s Asian Friend Lee Lee is definitively my most favorite female Dexter’s Laboratory character, while Jake Sully, Sam Worthington’s 10 foot tall blue alien/human hybrid hero from James Cameron’s Avatar is my main blue man.

    Well, La Scarlet Cat, I think Dexter’s sister Dee Dee’s Asian friend Lee Lee, from the Cartoon Network Show, Dexter’s Laboratory, deserves an epic comeback role or so, and I also think Lee Lee deserves her own epic vehicle as well as her own spectacular showcase.

    How about “The Princess of Shangara”, a massive, elaborate, theatrical big screen multi-part Dexter’s Laboratory/The Powerpuff Girls-inspired traditional 2D hand drawn animated cartoon epic tale of mythical, biblical and legendary proportions (and made in both Panavision/Cinemascope and/or IMAX formats (which means, the 2.35:1 Cinemascope/Panavision widescreen aspect ratio of the regular scenes should open up during the IMAX scenes, just as in The Dark Knight and Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol) with Dee Dee’s Asian friend Lee Lee, aka Lilimaia, being the main central lead character as well as The Princess of Shangara of the title: a heroic warrior princess from the land of Shangara (a Far East Asian/Chinese/Japanese-influenced land, complete with its own language, culture, customs, art, and lore) who is as mighty, brave, and noble as she is young, fair, and beautiful, and who, according to an ancient prophecy, is destined to stop the evil Mandark from conquering and enslaving the world.

    The Princess of Shangara, which will feature Dee Dee’s Asian Friend Lee Lee at the heart of an epic tale for everyone, will be set in a fantasy world where dinosaurs still roam the land, and fire-breathing dragons rule the skies along with birds and pterosaurs. But The Princess of Shangara should also be partially inspired by the ancient Chinese legendary motif of Mulan (especially like in Disney’s 1998 interpretation), except that it is set in a fictional fantasy world instead of China.

    The Princess of Shangara should mainly be done using traditional 2D hand drawn animation techniques, and in a character design and animation art graphic style that should be the same as those in Genndy Tartakovsky’s work on Dexter’s Lab up until Ego Trip, as well as Samurai Jack, and hopefully, despite having a graphic style and design just like those for the earlier seasons of Dexter’s Lab up until Ego Trip as well as that of Samurai Jack, it should contain some of the most stunning and intricate animation work ever filmed using traditional 2D hand drawn animation techniques as well as some of the best and greatest 2D traditional hand drawn character animation work ever done (especially in the case of the character animation work on Lee Lee and Mandark or so) besides Disney animator Milt Kahl’s character animation work on Shere Khan, the villainous tiger in Disney’s The Jungle Book (1967).

    I would also bring traditional 2D hand drawn animation and dinosaurs back together for the first time since Don Bluth’s original 1988 Land Before Time film, they also had to be as accurate to the latest knowledge from dinosaur experts around the world (especially in terms of anatomy and behavior) as possible, so The Princess of Shangara should not animate the dinosaurs like Dexter or like Dee Dee or like The Powerpuff Girls and should start with the natural world and animal kingdom as inspiration. I also wanted dinosaurs such as Velociraptor, Deinonychus and the like to have feathers and be much more bird like than most movie representations of maniraptorian dinosaurs (including those in Jurassic Park and its sequels).

    As for the music score, it should be an epic cinematic music score incorporating a whole lot of ethnic musical instruments and vocals from all around the world and some electronic synthesizers and computers into a full traditional orchestra.

    And I wish Skywalker Sound and/or the like should do the sound work on Princess of Shangara, especially a theatrical 7.1 channel surround sound mix.

    I should also pay homage to Genndy Tartakovsky’s work, especially on Dexter’s Lab and Samurai Jack, and especially in ways best suited to the US-based Russian-Born animation legend’s talents, but I should also add in my own sensibilities to the project.

    And Like Disney’s 1994 animated classic, The Lion King, I think The Princess of Shangara should be considered an epic, even though it’s an animated cartoon feature film project.

    A thousand apologies for writing such a long comment, La Scarlet Cat, but The Princess of Shangara is going to be good, great, epic, and awesome (just like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, as well as 90’s cartoons such as Dexter’s Lab and the Powerpuff Girls, and of course, theatrical 1990’s animated movies like Lion King, Beauty and the Beast and Aladdin), or would it?

    -Tim

     
    • lascarletcat

      February 29, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Wow, that was long! But thanks for the comment 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
